Research Summary
What the Carrier Landscape Actually Looks Like
GEICO, State Farm, and USAA — three of the largest auto insurers in the country — do not sell a traditional standalone gap insurance policy to the general public.
Both Progressive’s Loan/Lease Payoff Coverage and Farmers’ Residual Debt Coverage cap the deficiency payout at 25 percent of the vehicle’s Actual Cash Value, no matter how large the actual loan gap is.
AAA’s GAP product reimburses up to $50,000 of an outstanding loan balance on terms as long as 84 months, sold for a flat fee of roughly $299.
Carriers That Sell Gap Coverage, and What They Call It
“Gap insurance” is a generic industry term, not a standardized product name, so the first thing to check on any declarations page is what the carrier actually calls the coverage. Some insurers sell gap protection under its plain-English name; others fold the identical concept into a differently branded endorsement with its own restrictions and its own payout math.
Carrier Comparison
Nationwide Carrier Analysis: Gap Coverage by Insurer
| Insurer | Product Name | Payout Cap | Key Restriction | Typical Cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nationwide | Gap Coverage | None (traditional GAP) | Vehicle must be 6 model years old or newer | ~$2–$4 / month |
| Allstate | Loan or Lease Gap Coverage | None stated | Generally targeted to first owners of a new vehicle | ~$20–$40 / year |
| Liberty Mutual | Gap Insurance | None stated | Restricted to the first and only owner of the vehicle | ~$4–$5 / month |
| Travelers | Loan/Lease Gap | None stated | Original owner only; vehicle must be purchased new from a dealer | Not disclosed publicly |
| Auto-Owners | Loan or Lease Gap | None stated | Sold through independent agents as an add-on to comp/collision | ~$5 / month |
| Amica Mutual | Auto Loan/Lease Coverage | None stated | Requires comprehensive and collision coverage in force | ~$40–$60 / policy period |
| Erie Insurance | "Auto Security" endorsement | Functions as vehicle replacement, not a fixed payout | Replacement terms differ for vehicles under vs. over 2 years old | Not disclosed publicly |
| Farmers | Residual Debt Coverage / Vehicle Replacement Plus | 25% of the vehicle's depreciated value | No product explicitly branded "gap insurance" | Not disclosed publicly |
| Progressive | Loan/Lease Payoff Coverage | 25% of Actual Cash Value | Requires comprehensive and collision coverage | Varies by policy |
| The Hartford (AARP) | Gap Insurance | None stated | Must be added within 30 days of purchasing or leasing a new, not-previously-titled vehicle | Not disclosed publicly |
| AAA | GAP Insurance / GAP Waiver | Reimburses up to $50,000 of the outstanding balance | Available on loan terms up to 84 months; availability varies by regional club | ~$299 flat fee |
A few of these entries deserve a closer look because the product is not a plain dollar-for-dollar payoff. Erie’s “Auto Security” endorsement, for example, does not simply clear the loan balance on a total loss — if the totaled vehicle is less than two years old, Erie pays to replace it with the newest comparable model year, and if it is older than two years, Erie replaces it with a model up to two years newer. A driver who wants the loan simply paid off rather than a replacement vehicle can opt for the endorsement to function as traditional gap coverage instead.
Farmers is the clearest example of a carrier that sells the concept without using the words “gap insurance” anywhere in its marketing. Its Residual Debt Coverage — also called Vehicle Replacement Plus — pays the difference between the Actual Cash Value and the loan balance, but like Progressive, applies a strict ceiling of 25 percent of the vehicle’s depreciated value. A driver comparing quotes by searching only for the phrase “gap insurance” would miss both products entirely.
Three Major Carriers That Do Not Offer Standard Gap Insurance
A notable finding in the national carrier landscape is that three of the largest auto insurers in the United States completely abstain from selling a standard gap insurance product to the general public.
Carrier Comparison
Carriers Without Standard Gap Insurance
| Insurer | Nearest Alternative | Description |
|---|---|---|
| GEICO | None | Does not offer gap insurance or loan/lease payoff coverage in any state, under any policy structure. Customers must buy a standalone policy from a third-party administrator or rely on a dealership GAP waiver. |
| State Farm | "Payoff Protector" | Not an insurance endorsement — a loan feature available only to vehicles financed directly through State Farm Bank. Buyers who finance through an outside bank or credit union cannot get gap coverage from State Farm at all. |
| USAA | "Car Replacement Assistance" or "Total Loss Protection" | Membership is restricted to military members, veterans, and their families. Car Replacement Assistance adds a flat 20% to the vehicle's Actual Cash Value for externally financed vehicles; Total Loss Protection, a debt waiver covering up to $1,000 of the deductible, applies only to USAA-originated auto loans. |
GEICO’s absence is the most complete: as a direct-to-consumer carrier built around streamlined, high-volume underwriting, it deliberately avoids the operational complexity of coordinating with lenders, tracking amortization schedules, and administering lease payoff departments. A GEICO customer who wants gap protection has to look entirely outside their own insurer — either at a dealership waiver or a standalone third-party administrator.
State Farm and USAA are subtler cases, because each has a product that sounds like gap insurance but is not sold the same way. State Farm’s Payoff Protector is not an insurance endorsement at all; it is a contractual feature of an auto loan originated by State Farm Bank specifically, so a customer who finances through any other bank or credit union simply cannot buy it. USAA’s Car Replacement Assistance sidesteps the loan balance entirely by adding a flat 20 percent to the vehicle’s Actual Cash Value regardless of what is actually owed, while its separate Total Loss Protection — a true debt waiver covering up to $1,000 of the deductible — only attaches to a loan originated directly through USAA.
What to Actually Ask When Comparing Carrier Quotes
Because the product name, payout structure, and eligibility window vary this widely, comparing gap coverage by price alone is not enough. Four questions separate a policy that will fully close a deficiency from one that leaves a driver with an unexpected balance.
- Is the payout capped, and at what percentage?A 25-percent-of-ACV cap, as sold by Progressive and Farmers, can leave thousands of dollars uncovered on a long loan term or a low down payment — ask specifically whether the endorsement is “true GAP” or a capped Loan/Lease Payoff variant.
- Does an ownership or vehicle-age restriction apply? Travelers and Liberty Mutual both restrict eligibility to the original or sole owner, and Nationwide caps eligibility at six model years, so a used-vehicle buyer should confirm eligibility before assuming a quote applies to their situation.
- Is there a purchase window? The Hartford requires the endorsement to be added within 30 days of buying or leasing the vehicle. For the general rules governing how long a buyer has to add coverage after the sale closes, see our companion report on whether you can get gap insurance after you buy a car.
- Is this an insurer endorsement or a dealership waiver? The two are legally different products with different cost structures and cancellation rules. For the mechanics of how a GAP payout and refund are actually calculated once a claim is filed, see our companion report on how gap insurance works on a car.
Frequently Asked Questions
What car insurance companies offer gap insurance?
Nationwide, Allstate, Liberty Mutual, Travelers, Auto-Owners, Amica, Erie, Farmers, Progressive, The Hartford, and AAA all sell some version of gap coverage, though the product name, payout cap, and eligibility rules differ by carrier.
Does GEICO offer gap insurance?
No. GEICO does not offer gap insurance or loan/lease payoff coverage in any state under any policy structure. GEICO policyholders who want gap coverage have to source it from a dealership waiver or a third-party administrator.
Does State Farm offer gap insurance?
Not as a standard insurance endorsement. State Farm offers "Payoff Protector," a loan feature tied exclusively to vehicles financed through State Farm Bank. Buyers who finance through an outside lender cannot purchase gap coverage from State Farm.
Does USAA offer gap insurance?
USAA does not sell traditional gap insurance and restricts membership to military members, veterans, and their families. It offers "Car Replacement Assistance" for externally financed vehicles and "Total Loss Protection" for USAA-originated auto loans instead.
Which insurer offers the largest gap insurance payout?
Most carrier-sold gap endorsements have no fixed dollar ceiling and instead pay the entire deficiency, subject to a Loan-to-Value cap. Progressive is a notable exception, capping its Loan/Lease Payoff Coverage at 25 percent of the vehicle's Actual Cash Value. AAA advertises a specific ceiling of $50,000 of outstanding loan balance.
Legal Disclaimer
This content is provided for informational and educational research purposes only. It does not constitute legal or financial advice and does not create an attorney-client relationship. Carrier product names, payout caps, eligibility windows, and pricing change over time and vary by state; verify current terms directly with the insurer before relying on a specific figure.
For Journalists & Researchers
Copy a formatted citation for this research report to use in articles, reports, or publications.
Primary Source Directory
- What Is Gap Insurance and How Does It Work? (industry): Progressive. Carrier product page describing Loan/Lease Payoff Coverage and its 25-percent-of-Actual-Cash-Value payout cap.
- Loan/Lease Payoff Coverage (industry): Progressive. Carrier coverage page detailing eligibility requirements and exclusions for Loan/Lease Payoff Coverage.
- Totaled Car: What Happens Next? (industry): Allstate. Carrier guidance describing Loan or Lease Gap Coverage and its role after a total-loss determination.
- What Is Loan or Lease Gap Coverage? (industry): Travelers Insurance. Carrier product page describing Loan/Lease Gap eligibility, including the original-owner and new-dealer-purchase requirements.
- How Much Does Gap Insurance Cost? 2026 Guide (secondary): Insuranceopedia. Consumer guide compiling carrier-by-carrier gap insurance cost ranges and eligibility notes, including Liberty Mutual’s first-owner restriction.
- Gap Insurance Coverage (industry): Nationwide. Carrier product page describing its gap coverage, including the six-model-year vehicle-age restriction.
- Does Erie Offer Gap Insurance? (secondary): WalletHub. Consumer research explainer of Erie’s “Auto Security” endorsement and its vehicle-replacement structure for total losses under and over two years old.
- Gap Insurance (industry): Erie Insurance. Carrier glossary entry describing the Auto Security endorsement’s function as gap protection.
- Optional Coverages Are Worth a Second Look (industry): Auto-Owners Insurance. Carrier blog describing its Loan or Lease Gap coverage sold through independent agents.
- What Is Gap Insurance? (industry): Amica Insurance. Carrier product page describing Auto Loan/Lease Coverage cost and its requirement for comprehensive and collision coverage.
- Collision Insurance Coverage (industry): Farmers Insurance. Carrier coverage page referencing Residual Debt Coverage as a collision-adjacent add-on.
- What is Gap Insurance and How Does it Work? (industry): Farmers Insurance. Carrier explainer describing Vehicle Replacement Plus and its 25-percent-of-depreciated-value payout ceiling.
- Gap Insurance for Cars: Auto Loan Coverage (industry): The Hartford. AARP-exclusive carrier product page describing the 30-day post-purchase eligibility window and new-vehicle requirement.
- AAA Automotive | Gap & Auto Insurance (industry): AAA Carolinas. Regional AAA club product page describing GAP eligibility on loan terms up to 84 months and the $50,000 reimbursement ceiling.
- AAA GAP Waiver Frequently Asked Questions (industry): AAA Minnesota/Iowa. Regional AAA club FAQ describing the roughly $299 flat fee and deductible-coverage feature of its GAP waiver.
- Does GEICO Offer Gap Insurance? 2026 Answer (secondary): Hotaling Insurance Services. Consumer research explainer confirming GEICO does not sell gap insurance or loan/lease payoff coverage in any state.
- What Is Gap Insurance? (Official carrier statement): GEICO. Carrier glossary page defining gap insurance generally without offering the product itself.
- Providers: Does State Farm Offer Gap Insurance? (secondary): Hotaling Insurance Services. Consumer research explainer describing State Farm’s Payoff Protector and its restriction to State Farm Bank-originated loans.
- Payoff Protector vs GAP Insurance (industry): State Farm. Carrier page explaining the Payoff Protector loan feature and its restriction to State Farm Bank auto loans.
- Car Replacement Assistance Coverage (industry): USAA. Carrier product page describing Car Replacement Assistance, which adds 20 percent to Actual Cash Value regardless of loan balance.